Scholarships

2023 Auxiliary Scholarships Available for Junior Angus Members

The American Angus Auxiliary scholarships are presented annually. The total amount awarded will vary. Ten (10) scholarships will be awarded. The exact amount of the first, second, third, fourth and fifth place awards given to both male and female qualified applicants will be determined by May 1, 2023. Scholarships may be defined as financial grants for which no equivalent work is required.

Each state is entitled to submit one girl and one boy application for the national scholarships. The two applications must be submitted by the state or regional scholarship chairperson to the American Angus Auxiliary Scholarship Chairperson. If your state does not have an Auxiliary State/Regional Scholarship Chair, a designated representative from the State/Regional Angus Association, or the State Junior Angus Advisors should submit the completed application. Please contact the American Angus Auxiliary Scholarship Chair with questions.

All scholarship applicants are encouraged to attend the National Junior Angus Show in early July.

The scholarship application is the basis from which the candidates are chosen to compete for Miss American Angus. Each young lady submitting a scholarship application will be required to complete a form declaring her intent to compete/not compete for Miss American Angus if given the opportunity. The five highest placing ladies choosing to compete for Miss American Angus will be announced at the National Junior Show. These ladies will be required to attend the Miss American Angus contest held in November at the Angus Convention. The intent form and additional information on the role and requirements of Miss American Angus will be mailed to each female applicant AFTER her scholarship application is received. (Please note: choosing not to compete for Miss American Angus does not affect scholarship eligibility.)

The application for the American Angus Auxiliary Scholarships is available online. Interested Junior Angus members may download the application, access directions and general information here. (See below). The post-mark for applications from the state contact is May 1. Additional questions about the American Angus Auxiliary scholarships can be directed to:

Karla Knapp, Scholarship Chair
22439 265th Street
Bloomfield, IA 52537
Phone: (641) 777-9887
Email: knappangus@gmail.com

The American Angus Auxiliary consists of individuals interested in the welfare of the Angus breed. Its members word to provide educational activities for junior Angus members, such as scholarship programs, awards, and competitions. To learn more about the American Angus Auxiliary, see what we do or see us in action.


State Scholarship Contacts

Alabama

Debbie Graydon
975 Fleming Rd.
Montgomery, AL 36105
Phone: 334-657-1408
graydonfarm@att.net

Arkansas

Michelle Rieff
6380 NW Mason Valley Rd.
Bentonville, AR 72713
Cell: 479-936-1685
michelleannrieff@gmail.com

California

Amanda Leo
606 Figmond Ave
Snelling, CA 95369
Phone: 209-563-6931
Cell: 209-483-8507
Amanda@caloreseed.com

Colorado

Kathi Creamer
17270 6450 Road
Montrose, CO 81403
Phone: 970-240-2798
Cell: 970-596-0045
kathi@lazyjb.com

Florida

Zoila Hernandez
2980 Bolton Ct.
Wellington, FL 33414
Cell: 561-676-3474
rzranch1@yahoo.com

Georgia

Carolyn Gazda
1985 Morton Road
Athens, GA 30605
Cell 706-540-2222
gazdacattleco@bellsouth.net

Idaho

Cindy Kinder
2184 S 1200 E
Bliss, ID 83314
Phone: 208-837-6064
ckinder@uidaho.edu

Illinois

Alicia Miller
27612 E 1200 North Rd
Forrest, IL 61741
Phone: 815-263-6057
alicia2006@illinoisalumni.org

Indiana

Natalie Harris
2485 Fogel Rd. SE
Corydon, IN 47112
Phone: 317-549-5205
Natalie.Harris@infarmbureau.com

Iowa

Mary Greiman
1960 200th St
Garner, IA 50438
Phone: 641-923-2235
Cell: 641-425-1533
greimanfamilyangus@comm1net.net

Kansas

Esther Tarpoff
9700 Roberts Run Road
Westmoreland, KS 66549
Phone: 620-636-0245
esthertarpoff@gmail.com

Kentucky

Judy Rowland
238 Clementsville Rd.
Gamaliel, KY 42140
Phone: 270-427-0550
hollyhill@scrtc.com

Louisiana

Bridgett Gisclair
315 Keller Road
Longville, LA 70652
Phone: 337-725-6550
begisclair@centurytel.net

Maine

Rachel Sirios
218 Richmond Rd.
Litchfield, ME 04350
Cell: 207-458-8577
guernsey1978@gmail.com

Maryland

Brittany Douglas
1121 Moonbow Drive
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 240-674-1128
fdebrit@vt.edu

Michigan

Kendra Diekevers
5219 Bancroft Ave.
Alto, MI 49302
Phone: 616-272-1675
kdiekevers2@email.davenport.edu

Minnesota

Alisha Nord
3326 109th Ave SE
Valley City, MN 58072
Phone: 701-367-5609
alishan@ndfb.org

Mississippi

Emma Powell: Co-Chair
299 McCullough Lane
Flora, MS 39071
Phone: 601-622-1275
Emmacollinsc@gmail.com

Mississippi

Melanie Kiani: Co-Chair
1246 Sims Hill Rd
Morton, MS 39117
Phone: 601-214-0408
Melk8890@gmail.com

Missouri

Mackenzie Sampson
24283 State Hwy 11
Kirksville, MO 63501
Phone: 660-216-2207
mdsampson01@gmail.com

Montana

Jena Lee Wagner
3752 Little Creek Lane
Billings, MT 59101
Phone: 406-670-9618
jenalee.wagner@gmail.com

Nebraska

Margo Lehn
PO Box 245
Lone Pine, NE 69217
Phone: 402-760-0386
info@nebraskaangus.org

North Carolina

Elaine Scarlett
4204 Bass Mountain Rd
Snow Camp, NC 27349
Phone: 336-380-1917
e.scarlett@yahoo.com

North Dakota

Stacy Erdmann
13460 Hwy 27
Lisbon, ND 58054
Cell: 701-680-1224
stacy.erdmann@gmail.com

Ohio

Christina Howell
1495 Snake Road
Shelby, OH 44875
Phone: 419-295-9247
howell521@gmail.com

Oklahoma

Karen Armbruster
31146 CR. 590
Cherokee, OK 73728
Phone: 580-431-2626
Cell: 580-430-6126
karen.armbruster@okstate.edu

Pennsylvania

Nancy Frey
1664 Furniss Rd.
Drumore, PA 17518
Phone: 717-786-1388
Cell: 717-725-0974
nfrey@freysupply.com

South Carolina

Sally Yon
490 Aikens Rd.
Ridge Spring, SC 29129
Phone: 803-312-4837
sally@yonfamilyfarms.com

South Dakota

Jeana Hurlbut
17175 416 Ave
Raymond, SD 57258
Cell: 402-682-2570
jeana@stephaniecronin.com

Tennessee

Susan Mayfield
557 Fields Road
Pulaski, TN 38478
Phone: 931-580-0184
mayfield0023@gmail.com

Texas

Moriah Pohlman
1855 FM 1058
Hereford, TX 79045
Phone: 806-346-3323
M_pohlman@hotmail.com

Virginia

Linda Alexander
1551 Lewisville Rd
Berryville, VA 22611
Phone: 540-955-1417
Cell: 540-409-7998
tpangus1993@yahoo.com

Washington

Jaime Sackman
3987 Rd R.5 SE
Warden, WA 98857
Cell: 509-989-5970
jeffandjaime@yahoo.com

West Virginia

Mida Peterson
6581 US Hwy 33 E
Horner, WV 26372
Cell: 304-269-3877
rockingp@shentel.net

Western States

Kathleen Buchanan
13490 Algoma Rd
Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Phone: 541-883-8471
Cell: 541-281-3558
buchananangus@hughes.net

Wisconsin

Kayla Jentz
8775 Offerdahl Rd
Verona, WI 53593
Cell: 608-575-2053
jentz@uwalumni.com