American Angus Auxiliary ANNUAL Meeting

November 2, 2019- Reno, Nevada

President Cindy Ahearn called the meeting to order at 3:06 p.m.

Cindy welcomed everyone and introduced the Executive Committee, Committee Chairs, State Presidents, Distinguished Women and Past Presidents.

Mark McCully, American Angus Association CEO welcomed the Auxiliary to the Convention and thanked us for all we do for the Association and the juniors. He is excited about his new position and looking forward to the coming year.

Cindy welcomed the reigning Miss American Angus Madison Weaver. Madison shared just a little of her year with us and thanked the Auxiliary for all of their support. She will present her final overview of the year at the Auxiliary Breakfast on Sunday.

Minutes - Secretary Pam Velisek advised that the minutes were published on the Website and a few copies at the back of room for review. **Motion:** Julie Murnin made a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes and accept them as presented, Carol Bloom seconded, **motion passed.**

Treasurers Report – Pam Velisek presented the Treasurers report. No motion is needed and the report will be filed in the records of the Auxiliary.

Committee Reports – All reports were published on the Website for review.

Historian – Emma Collins, chair reported that the scrapbook was complete for 2019 and was in the Angus Gift Barn to view.

Women Connected – Chairperson Anne Lampe reported that we would have a Women's Connected in 2020 and it would be held in Wooster, Ohio at Certified Angus Beef. The dates are March 4- 6, 2020. The applications will be on the Auxiliary website and will be due around January 15th.

Miss American Angus – Co-Chair Whitney Trosper-Renfro announced the five contestants for this year. They are Eva Hinrichsen, KS; Morgan Knapp, IA; Hailey Roye, AR; Mardee Sadowsky, MO and Claire Stevenson, MT. The judges are Abby Nelson, Beth Murphy Ryan and Dick Hubman. Whitney also announced that the "Trosper girls" would be retiring this year as Co-Chairs and that Paige Wallace Arnold and Cortney Hill-Dukehart Cates will be the new Co-Chairs.

Public Relations – Julie Murnin shared that the Agreement with Angus Media had been signed and they were very generous with what they gave the Auxiliary and we are moving forward with the coming year! All press releases and PR publications must go through Julie, chairperson and she will forward to the appropriate departments.

Full Circle Online Auction – Chair Shally Rogen gave a report and let everyone know the bidding was now open! There are 25 items to bid on and sale will conclude on November 7, 2019. Please try to get donations from your state auxiliaries for next year.

Scholarship – Gina Hope gave her report on scholarship this year. All went really well with the digital applications, the judges seemed really happy with them. Instead of follow up conference call this year we were able to do all new questions via email and all ran very smoothly. Gina presented the two names for judges to the Executive committee and they were approved.

Angus Gift Barn – Christy Perdue and Anne Lampe went over the hours and the new items for the AGB. Everyone needs to go shop, shop!

Old Business:

Endowments – All of the Endowment Agreements have now been signed between the Auxiliary and the Angus Foundation. The name of the Pat Grote Scholarship Endowment Fund will now be known as the Pat Grote Lead Sponsorship Fund. The name was changed because it is for a specific event and not a "scholarship". Article III and IV contradict each other and Cindy will speak with Kenny Miller, CFO, American Angus Association about correcting the wording.

Public Relations MOU – We now have a signed Agreement with Angus Media (AM). We got everything that we asked for except the December issue. Julie Murnin, Chairman discussed her goals for Public Relations and working with the committee chairs to get the information published. AM will take care of printing the cookbooks for Cook-off Contest and updating the Website, both of which we will pay a fee for but that is normal "cost of doing business". Julie asked that all Public Relations items need to go through her as she will take care of getting all items to the correct people for publication.

Digital Transition – We have worked hard this year to update the membership list and move most communication to all digital. We did mail out the spring and fall POST this year but moving forward (provided bylaw change is passed) we will be going all digital with the exception of the people who specifically requested a copy be mailed.

New Business:

Presentation of 2019-2020 Budget – Nancy Thelen, Finance Chair went over the Budget that was presented to the Executive Committee at their meeting and was voted on at that time.

Appointment of 2020 Nominating Committee – President Cindy Ahearn presented Cara Ayres for approval. **Motion:** Megan Ahearn moved we accept Cara to the committee, seconded by Carol Bloom, **motion passed.** Cindy than presented Karla Knapp for approval. **Motion:** Nancy Thelen moved we accept Karla to the committee, seconded by Lynn Hinrichsen, **motion passed.**

Appointment of Election Tellers – President Cindy Ahearn appointed Mary McCurry and Renee Driscoll as tellers for election.

Bylaw Proposal – The proposed Bylaw changes were published in the Fall 2019 Post, copies provided at check-in. **Motion:** Mary McCurry made a motion to accept the proposed changes as presented in Post, seconded by Julie Murnin, **motion passed.**

Nominating committee/slate of Officers – Chairman Leslie Mindemann presented the Slate of Officers as President, Gina Hope; President Elect, Pam Velisek and Secretary/Treasurer, Deanna Hofing. Having no nominations from the floor the vote was cast and approved. Leslie then announced the new Regional Directors for Region 4, 5 and 6. They are Julie Conover, Region 4; Rebecca Knott, Region 5 and Valerie Trowbridge, Region 6. Cindy Worthington of CA was appointed to fill Carol DeMeyers position in Region 1 as she is moving to Ohio out of her region.

Passing of the Gavel – Cindy passed the gavel to Gina Hope as new President! Gina thanked Cindy for all she accomplished this year and we look forward to Cindy moving into the Advisor position.

Motion: Shally Rogen made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Karla Knapp, **motion passed**. Meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Pam Velisek, Secretary/Treasurer