■ NEXT GENERATION

CONTINUED FROM PAGE 40

by the Livestock and Meat Industry Council, the academy's goal is to develop young leaders within the livestock industry and prepare them for a successful future in the field.

"The experiences gained through KASLA will help develop your understanding of the industry and ignite your potential as a young leader in agriculture," said past participant Molly Bertz of Mayview, Mo. "I would highly recommend participation. Whether you come from a strong agricultural background or are curious to learn more about the industry, KASLA is providing students with an inside view of the food production system."

This year's program will take place June 14-17 in Manhattan. Applications are due April 1, 2017, and can be found at www.youthlivestock.ksu.edu.

The program's itinerary will feature interactive workshops, tours and faculty mentor time with animal science professors. Industry leaders will also join the participants frequently to share their knowledge and expertise. Throughout the week, participants will work in teams to evaluate current events within the animal science industry and educate others. This experience will culminate with team presentations and a closing reception on Saturday morning.

The program also focuses on developing personal leadership skills through workshops and activities.

"One of my favorite parts of KASLA was learning more about our individual strengths through the Strengths Finder Assessment," Bertz said. "As we learned more about our strengths, we were also able to learn how to capitalize on them and use them effectively in group settings such as the agriculture issues team project. KASLA truly developed us as leaders in the agriculture industry both inside and out."

CONTINUED ON PAGE 44

Northern Virginia Angus Ass'n Annual Meeting & Banquet, Jan. 21, Warrenton



Lauren Beasley (right), Bluemont, receives the Top Junior Award from Linda Alexander.

Certificates of Achievement

The American Angus Auxiliary has awarded the 2016 Certificates of Achievement to qualifying junior members.

The Certificate of Achievement is issued for outstanding achievements at national. state and district (tri-county) levels. County-level achievements are not eligible. In a given year, a qualifying junior Angus member will receive one certificate in recognition of their achievement record as reported during the fiscal year (from Oct. 1 of the previous year to Sept. 30 of the current year).

Achievements that qualify include champion or reserve champion bull, heifer, steer or cow-calf pair; division champion or reserve division champion bull, heifer, steer or cow-calf pair; awards in showmanship, judging, carcass classes, scholarship competitions, royalty competitions and all competitions recognized by the National Junior Angus Association (NJAA), including those at the National Junior Angus Show (NJAS). Gold, Silver and Bronze

ILLINOIS

Laramie Chaffin

INDIANA

Hunter Carrico Bryce Hofing Kallie Knott Austin Nowatzke Kayden Nowatzke

IOWA

Jordan Barker Cassidy Becker Colton Becker Craig Becker Alexis Bradshaw Kassidy Bremer Abby Collison **Emily Collison** Brooklyn Curtin **Tanner Curtin** Evan Dietz **Taylor Duckett** Grace Greiman Haley Greiman Shelby Greiman Madeline Herring Cale Jensen lack Johnson Jordan Johnson Olivia Johnson Makayla Jones Brady Klendworth Baxter Knapp Lexi Knapp Morgan Knapp Roni Kruse Bryce Lafrenz Kenton Lain Will Lapke Tim Mardesen Maggie Maas Michael Maas Carson Mather Keegan Mather Reed McCormick Hannah Mitchell Nathan Moen Lexie Moore

Jude Moser

Korey Moser Lucas Moser Paige Owens Nicholas Prevo Elsie Rogers **Jacob Schermer** Jerad Shires Alivea Skarda Abe Trover Emma Troyer Maddy Udell Coryn Wilson Kaden Wilson Courtney Younge Sydney Younge

KANSAS

Ethan Dickerson **Grady Dickerson lavce Dickerson** Sydnee Shive Nicholas Siemens

LOUISIANA

Faith Guice Kara LeBeouf Lani LeBeouf

Javcie Brown Mike Brown Kavina Johnson Kollin Johnson Katrena Klopfenstein Amanda Kosal Kristopher Kosal **Austin Pillars** Blake Pillars Sterling Reichenbach John (Jack) Reid Maggie Reid

Brittany Eagleburger Katelyn Holmes

MONTANA Avery Bates NORTH CAROLINA Lynae Bowman Colton Cox Taylor Glover Bromenshenk J. Caleb Heath Wes Brown **NORTH DAKOTA Kourtney Schaff** Conner Cook Jake Cook ОНЮ Parker Cook Lydia Dance Sydney Cutler Ellie Kidwell **PENNSYLVANIA** Conner Grim Claudia Hissong

> Elizabeth Trowbridge **Hunter Voight** James Voight Elizabeth Voight F. Hayden Weaver **Madison Weaver**

Kyle Livingston

Daniel Rohrbaugh

Dakota Mayle

Samuel Parr

Nicole Nichols

Reagan Skow

Rachel Smith

Savannah Schafer

SOUTH DAKOTA

Madison Styles Sawyer Styles

TEXAS

Colter Pohlman Cutter Pohlman

VIRGINIA

Lauren Beasley Cody Boden Ryan Borer Catie Hope

awards qualify, as do leadership roles or positions that were held during that time. **MISSOURI** Kyra Meyer

Trista Bates Beau Bromenshenk Garrett Tyler Brown

Allison Dubs Kade Friede Shane Friede Jillian Frye Leighton Green

Rilee Green

Ryan Green

Jada Hartman

Isabel Jeffrey

David Lowry

Claire Murnin

Kane Olson

Jacob Reisig

Abigail Stevenson

Claire Stevenson

Craig Stevenson

Faith Stevenson

Leisa Stevenson

Bree Swanson

Tanner Vanek

Brooke Vincent

Kristen Vincent

Jordyn Wagner

Nicole Stevenson

Rachael Stevenson

Ashley Sitz

Abby Leachman

MICHIGAN

Dalaney Bates Hunter Brown

Jason Zeilke **Brady Zellmer** Paige Zellmer Thea Zellmer

NEBRASKA

Caitlin Havelka Dakota Lovett Montana Lovett Kasey Meyer